We get in a rush, we get in a wreck.

I have been focusing lately on family axioms – values and virtues that we overtly speak over our children describing the kind of people we are (ahem, suppose to be.) Call it a motto, maxim, adage, rallying cry….

Today, I am expounding on one my my favs, the simple yet sensible “We get in a rush, we get in a wreck”.  A phrase aptly spoken to myself yesterday as I was dashing out the door and speeding down the street to get to a wedding on time. Breathe Nikki. We get in a rush, we get in a wreck. And by the way, your kids need a mom, so buckle up and bring your A game.

This axiom first came out of my mouth a while back, when 6 kids were in my playroom, fussing over who would get what lego piece. I declared, “Whoa, slow down kids! We get in a rush, we get in a wreck!” Seconds later, one of the children unintentionally flung my iPhone off the table, shattering the glass into 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 pieces.

I love this axiom because of it’s clarity and veracity. Not mind-blowing, life-changing, earth-shattering.  But a valuable reminder to slow down and breathe. To remain sharp and alert, and be present in the moment.

A related note about HASTE. I have been pondering haste lately because many of my friends are leading frenzied lives, rushing from this appointment to that, practices, meets, recitals, rehearsals, games, tutoring, church, playdates, and terra-robo-astro-geo-paleo-lego-theo-neo-nova club.  Some of these mamas are frazzled and perpetually exhausted – missing appointments, double-booking, and complaining about being SO BUSY.

Don’t get me wrong, I have had many a season of overcommitment and boundary vertigo. But these past three years in Tuscaloosa, I have pulled back – banned chaos – shunned overcommitment – practiced NO – and sloooowwwwed down.

My message is this. On a micro level, take a look at each moment, each activity, as you move through your day. Notice the patterns that cause you or your children to spin into carelessness because of haste. On a macro level, examine your calendar, your lifestyle, and your commitments. Become aware of areas that need attention and balance.

Grounded in the midst of chaos.

Grounded in the midst of chaos.

8 comments

  1. I love this! And it is such a good reminder for me. I am so busy working, parenting, grieving, working through the adoption process, the list goes on. I need to savor the moments and say no more. I want to hear more axioms!

    1. Presh. I think of you so often – God bless you with all that you have to say grace over. Excited about the adoption process. Praying you continue to find hope in every moment of every day. XO

    1. Nicole! Love your art! Thanks. yeah, I have been blogging for a while on blogger (since our time in KS). But decided to start a specific blog about parenting and education. Hope I get to meet your family one day. XO

      1. I look forward to your future posts regarding homeschooling, we are open to homeschooling our kids. I’ve been keeping up with you guys on your zion dreamer blog. Yoga certification! Gee gats! Super rad.

  2. Love you, and love this. Slooooooowing down is definitely what I’m learning from you right now. I’ve wrecked too many times to mention lately. I’m going to try actually BEING a stay-at-home-mom instead of just playing or on TV. 😉

Leave a Reply

